SENIGALLIA AND ITS PORT
Welcome to Senigallia, an old town on the Adriatic coast with a rich historical and artistic heritage of great beauty.
Churches, museums, palaces, squares, together with Rocca Roveresca, create an urban texture made of stories, traditions, artistic heritage and monuments.
The circular structure of Foro Annonario designed by Pietro Ghinelli in 1834 is still the site of the market, but also of the municipal library, archives and media library. The round square reaches the Ercolani porticoes and reaches the Duomo. Behind Foro Annonario is Palazzo del Duca (Duke’s Palace) and Rocca Roveresca built by Giovanni Della Rovere according to the design of architects Laurana and Pontelli in 1480.
The historical center comprises churches and works of inestimable value and quality: Chiesa della Croce, paintings by Barocci, stuccos by Brandani, the new Teatro La Fenice rebuilt in 1997 with a curtain by the great contemporary artist Enzo Cucchi.
Senigallia is a welcoming city enlivened by cultural and entertainment events, high-quality food and wine products, celebrated ice cream parlors, cafes and pizzerias, stores, starred restaurants, trattorias, and cocktail bars.
Thanks to its rich heritage and wide range of quality services, Senigallia is an ideal destination for urban trekking.
The Neoclassical structure with an elliptical shape, known as Foro Annonario, was erected in 1834 according to the design by architect Pietro Ghinelli. It is the historic venue of the local fruit and vegetable market: in summer, Foro Annonario becomes an evocative setting for shows, concerts and all sorts of events.
ROTONDA A MARE
Rocca Roveresca is an illustrious example of military architecture from the Renaissance. The ancient fortress was the home of the Lords of Senigallia: the Della Rovere family.
The current structure of the monument is due to Giovanni della Rovere, Lord of Senigallia and son-in-law of Federico III da Montefeltro, Duke of Urbino. It was precisely Duke Federico who provided Giovanni with the best architects of the time: Luciano Laurana and Baccio Pontelli. The works began in 1478 with the aim of adapting the fortress to the new defensive needs. In 1503 the fortress was conquered by Cesare Borgia, who carried out the famous massacre of Senigallia described by Niccolò Machiavelli.
PALAZZO DEL DUCA
CHIESA DELLA CROCE
Just two steps away from the Town Hall and the main street (Corso II Giugno) is the Church of the Cross. It is a true and authentic jewel: the sober late Renaissance façade conceals a rich and opulent Baroque interior, with Federico Barocci's masterpiece "Burial of Christ".
TEATRO LA FENICE
Teatro La Fenice is the city's historic theater. It was rehabilitated in 1996 on the same site as the old Teatro La Fenice of 1839 and the previous municipal theater of 1830.
It rests on the intersection of the main roads of the Roman Sena Gallica (La Fenice archaeological area) and is used as theater, concert hall, cinema, convention hall. Inside, Enzo Cucchi's curtain is a unique and original work of contemporary art of extraordinary quality.
Portici Ercolani are one of the most characterizing elements of the city of Senigallia. Their name recalls Monsignor Giuseppe Ercolani, who built them in the mid-eighteenth century at the behest of Pope Benedict XIV, with the purpose of annually hosting the celebrated Francain Fair.
CHIESA DELLE GRAZIE
FOOD/WINE EXCELLENCE AND HOSPITALITY
BARS AND ICE CREAM PARLORS
Ice cream parlor
a few steps from Porto Della Rovere